# Sustainable Infrastructure Development in Karnataka: Key Achievements and Way Forward

#### October 22, 2010

## Hotel Le Meridien Bangalore

### Agenda

9:00-10:00 a.m. Inaugural Session : Role of Infrastructure in Sustainable Growth

*Welcome Remarks – Shri Pronab Dasgupta*, Senior Advisor & Director, Southern Regional Centre - TERI

*Special Address – Mr S V Ranganath*, Chief Secretary, Government of Karnataka

Presidential Address - Dr R K Pachauri, Director General, TERI

*Inaugural Address – Shri B S Yeddyurappa*, Hon'ble Chief Minister of Karnataka

**10:00-10:30 a.m**. Tea/Coffee

#### **10:30-01:30 p.m.** Panel Discussion I:

Sustaining World class Infrastructure Services for inclusive Development:

Financial and Market Issues

**Chair:** Ms Lakshmi Venkatachalam, Vice-President (Private Sector and Cofinancing Operations), Asian Development Bank

### **Presentations by:**

Mr V Madhu, IAS, Principal Secretary-Infrastructure Development Dept.

Mr Arvind Srivastava, Managing Director, KUIDFC

Dr Anjum Parwez, IAS, Director, Dept. Of Municipal Administration

Mr L V Nagarajan, Principal Secretary, Finance Dept.

#### **Panelists:**

Prof K V Raju, Economic Advisor to the CM

Dr Arvind Mayaram, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Rural Development, Government of India

Prof J Philip, President, XIME

Mr N S Srinivasa Murthy, President, FKCCI

Dr. Vinod Vyasulu, Director, Centre for Budget and Policy Studies, Bangalore

1.30-2.30 p.m. Lunch

2.30-5.30 p.m. Panel Discussion II

Sustaining World class Infrastructure Services for inclusive Development:

Social, Environmental and Institutional Challenges

Chair: Dr A Ravindra, Chairman-CSD and Advisor the CM

**Presentations by:** 

Mr P Ravikumar, IAS, Principal Secretary-RDPR

Mr Sanjiv Kumar, IAS, Secretary-Planning & Statistics

Mr A.S. Sadashivaiah, IFS (Retd.) Chairman, Karnataka State Pollution Control Board

**Panelists:** 

Mr S Sundar, Distinguished Fellow, TERI

Prof. S R Hiremath ,NGO Dharwad

Mr Prodyut Dutt, Principal Infrastructure Specialist, India Resident Mission, Asian Development Bank, New Delhi

Mr M G Prabhakar, Chairman-Energy Committee, FKCCI

Mr Rajiv Bawa, Executive Vice-President, Corporate Affairs, Uninor

Mr M R Sreenivasa Murthy, IAS, Chairman-KERC

5.30-6.00 p.m. Summary and way forward...... Dr. Leena Srivastava, ED, TERI

**6.00-6.10 p.m.** Vote of Thanks, Dr. M N Sridhar Babu, TERI