Born in Taiwan in 1936, Yuan T. Lee received his B.S. degree from the National Taiwan University in 1959 and Doctorate from UC Berkeley in 1965. After working with Professor Mahan at Berkeley and Professor Herschbach at Harvard as a post-doctoral fellow, he was appointed Assistant Professor at the University of Chicago in 1968. He returned to Berkeley as Professor of Chemistry in 1974. He was University Professor and Principal Investigator at the Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, UC Berkeley, before he returned to Taiwan to serve as the President of Academia Sinica from 1994 to 2006. He was elected President of the International Council for Science (ICSU) in 2008 and served from 2011 to 2014. He has received numerous awards and honors, including the 1986 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, the U.S. National Medal of Science, Faraday Medal from the Royal Chemical Society of Great Britain, the Jawaharlal Nehru Birth Centenary Medal from India, the Ettore Majorana-Erice-Science for Peace Prize from the Ettore Majorana Foundation and Centre for Scientific Culture of Italy, and Kolos Prize and Medal from Poland. He has received Doctor Honoris Causa from 40 universities and is an elected member of various academies throughout the world.

Aside from his scientific interests in the elucidation of dynamics of chemical reactions and photochemical processes, he also directed much of his attention to the advancement of international scientific developments and to the promotion of general public affairs. He has served as advisory board member on numerous national and international organizations, including US Department of Energy, Welch Foundation, Chief Advisor of the Science and Technology Advisory Group to the Prime Minister of Taiwan, International Scientific Council of the Israeli-Palestinian Science Organization, Science and Technology in Society Forum, RIKEN, and Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology in Japan.