Delhi Sustainable Development Summit 2002
Ensuring sustainable livelihoods:

challenges for governments, corporates, and civil society at Rio+10
8 - 11 February 2002, New Delhi

hdx.jpg (5704 bytes)



DSDS 2002

  bullet.gif (90 bytes) Introduction
  bullet.gif (90 bytes) Themes
  bullet.gif (90 bytes) Speakers
  bullet.gif (90 bytes) Papers
  bullet.gif (90 bytes) Programme
    - 8 Feb. 2002
    - 9 Feb. 2002
    - 10 Feb. 2002
    - 11 Feb. 2002
bullet.gif (90 bytes) Summit bulletin
bullet.gif (90 bytes) Media coverage
bullet.gif (90 bytes) Global support
  bullet.gif (90 bytes) Register
bullet.gif (90 bytes) Useful information
bullet.gif (90 bytes) Contact us


  bullet.gif (90 bytes) DSDS 2001
Conference proceedings
bullet.gif (90 bytes) TERI silver jubilee
Conference proceedings

Prof. Yoginder K Alagh
Former Union Minister and Member of Parliament, India

Yoginder K Alagh, born of 14 February 1939, Chakwal (India) is currently Vice Chairman of Sardar Patel Institute of Economic and Social Research, Ahmedabad. He was earlier Minister of Power and for Planning and Programme Implementation with additional charge of the Ministry of Science and Technology. He has been Member, Planning Commission (in the rank of Minister of State). He has been Chairman, Bureau of Industrial Costs and Prices, Ministry of Industry and / secretary to the Government of India.

He holds a Doctoral Degree in Economics from the University of Pennsylvania and Master’s Degree in the same subject from that University and the University of Rajasthan. He has taught Economics at the University of Rajasthan; the Indian Institute of Management, Calcutta; the University of Jodhpur, Swarthmore College; and the University of Pennsylvania. He has five books and over a hundred articles to his credit published both at home and abroad. He has been Chairman Agricultural Prices Commission of India, Director, Sardar Patel Institute of Economic and Social Research, Ahmedabad; Adviser to the Planning Commission of India; and Chairman of the Economic Group of Indian Institute of Management, Kolkata. He has travelled widely and represented India in a number of high level official delegations and seminars. He is Member of the Council, United Nations University and also Chairman, Scientific Steering Committee of the International Social Science Programme of UNESCO.

He was President of Gujarat Economic Association; Member, India Council of Social Science Research; President, Indian Econometric Society, and Indian Society of Labour Economics; Member of University Senates at Jodhpur, Vallabh Vidyanagar, Ahmedabad, and on the governing bodies of the Indian Institute of Management, Calcutta and the Giri Institute of Development Studies, Lucknow. He has been Chairman/member of a number of official committees at the state/national level. He has been awarded the VKRV Rao Award in Econonics for 1981. Prior to the charges as the Union Minister of State (Independent Charge), he was Vice Chancellor, Jawaharlal Nehru University and Professor, Sardar Patel Institute of Economic and Social Research, Ahmedabad, India and was a Senior Fellow at the UNU World Institute for Development of Economics Research, Helsinki, Finland.

He was the Coordinator for South Asia Technology Network of the Commission of European Communities at Brussels, Vice Chairman, State Planning Commission of Gujarat in the rank of Minister and Special Advisers to the Secretary General of UN Conference on Environment and Development, Member of the Governing Body of the International Institute of Labour Studies at Geneva and the Scientific Council of the Association Futuribles, Paris.

He is Chairman, Standing Policy Planning Committee of Governing Body of ICAR; President of the Human Development Institute, India Water Partnership and Shirdi Sai Rural Institute, Loni, Planning Commission, Chairman, Expert Group of Cauvery Dispute, constituted by the Prime Minister of India, and is Consultant to the Mekong River Commission. He has been Senior Adviser Consultant to FAO, UNFPA, ILO, ESCAP World Bank and UNDP and Visiting Professor at the prestigious Institut d'Etudes Politiques of Paris in 1995, and Distinguished Fullbright Lecturer in the US in 1994.