Procedures for Nicholas Georgescu-Roegen Awards

- Announcement for invitations for nominations will be made by The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI). The nominations will be accepted in the category of Unconventional Thinking and Bioeconomic Practice. A deadline to submit nominations will be specified.
- 2. Award coordinator receives and compiles submissions and sends them to all jury members after the deadline for submission for nominations.
- 3. There should be a minimum of five nominations in each category. If there are less than five nominations, the award in that category will be deferred to next year. The nominee will remain eligible for three years for which voting are conducted in that category.
- 4. Jury members will rank the nominees. Nominee/ Nominees with higher score based on the average rank is/ are declared the winner.
- 5. A jury member may choose to vote only a selected number of nominees. A jury member may also choose to assign the same rank to two or more nominees.
- 6. Jury members have the opportunity to state to one another the reasons for their preference.
- 7. If there is a tie between two nominees, they share the award.

- 8. Nominees remain eligible for consideration for a three-year period, starting with the year of submission. Nominators are encouraged to provide updated information during this period. After this three-year time frame, a completely new nomination must be submitted in order for the nominee to continue to be considered.
- 9. TERI may choose to recognize individuals other than the categories of Unconventional Thinking and Bioeconomic Practice.
- 10. The awards are announced during the Delhi Sustainable Development Summit.

About the Award Categories

Unconventional Thinking: This Award will be presented for contribution in academics, research and literature whose work reflect unconventional thinking. Academics, thought leaders, writers and opinion leaders can be nominated under this category.

Bioeconomic Practice Award: This Award will be presented for policy, business and even individuals. Policymakers, Businessmen, NGOs and individuals advocating for bioeconomic policy and action can be nominated under this category.

Lifetime Achievement Award: This Award is a special Award by TERI and is not given every year. The lifetime achievement award is awarded to individuals, who during their lifetime have made exceptional contributions in advancing the thinking around sustainable development and new models of growth.

Award Jury

Recipients of the Awards in the 'Unconventional Thinking' and 'Bioeconomic Pracice' category will be chosen by a seven-member jury comprising:

- Herman Daly, Emeritus Professor, School of Public Policy, University of Maryland
- R K Pachauri, Director General, The Energy and Resources Institute [TERI], and Chairman, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
- Joan Martinez-Alier, Professor of Economics and Economic History, Autonomous University of Barcelona
- John Gowdy, Rittenhouse Teaching Professor of Humanities and Social Sciences,
 Department of Economics, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
- Rajeswari Raina, Scientist, National Institute of Science Technology and Development Studies
- Marina Fischer-Kowalski, Director, Institute of Social Ecology, Alpen Adria Universitaet
- Deepak Malghan, Assistant Professor, Public Policy, Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore

For more details contact Shailly Kedia (Fellow, TERI) at shailly.kedia@teri.res.in