About DSDS
Steering Committee
Distinguished Speakers
- 3 Feb. 2005
- 4 Feb. 2005
- 5 Feb. 2005
Partners and Sponsors
Side events
Summit bulletin
Media coverage
Useful Information
- DSDS 2004
- DSDS 2003
- DSDS 2002
- DSDS 2001
- Silver jubilee
  Distinguished Speakers

Mr Montek Singh Ahluwalia
Hon'ble Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission, New Delhi

Dr Isher Judge Ahluwalia
Chair of the Board of Trustees, International
Food Policy Research Institute

Mr Bill Alexander
Chief Executive, RWE Thames Water, UK

Dr Sanjaya Baru
Media Adviser, Prime Minister's Office, New Delhi

Mr Suman Bery
Director-General, National Council of Applied Economic Research, New Delhi

Mr Rajesh Anand Bhagwan
Hon'ble Minister for Environment, Mauritius

Mr Arun Bhatnagar
Secretary, National Advisory Council, New Delhi

Ms Preety Bhandari
Director, Policy Analysis, TERI, New Delhi

Mr Børge Brende
Hon'ble Minister for Trade & Industry, Norway

Mr Michael F Carter
Country Director, The World Bank, New Delhi

Mr Raj Chengappa
Managing Editor, India Today, New Delhi

Mr C Dasgupta
Distinguished Fellow, TERI, New Delhi

Mr Nitin Desai
Advisor to the Secretary General on Information Technology (UN), United Nations

Mr Y C Deveshwar
Chairman, ITC Limited, Kolkata, India

Dr Vibha Dhawan
Executive Director,TERI, New Delhi

Smt Sheila Dikshit
Hon'ble Chief Minister, Government of Delhi, New Delhi

HE Mr Paljor J Dorji
Advisor - Government of Bhutan (Former Minister), Government of Bhutan

Mr Warren Evans
Director of Environment, The World Bank

Dr Prodipto Ghosh
Secretary, Ministry of Environment and Forests, New Delhi

Mr Gourisankar Ghosh
Executive Director, Water Supply and Sanitation Collaborative Council, Geneva

Dr Leonard Good
CEO & Chairman, Global Environment Facility, Washington, USA

HE Mr Olafur Ragnar Grimsson
President of Republic of Iceland

Dr Dave Griggs
Director - Climate Research, Hadley Centre for Climate Prediction and Research, UK

Mr Sanjiv Gupta
President & CEO, Coca-Cola India

Ms Nomatyala Hangana
Deputy Minister of Provincial and Local Government,
South Africa

Mr Roger Harrabin
Senior Environment Correspondent, BBC

Mr Pekka Haavisto
Chairman, UNEP Post-Conflict Assessment Unit and Former Minister for Environment and Development Cooperation, Govt of Finland

HE Ms Lindiwe Hendricks
Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, Government of South Africa

Prof.Tsugio Ide
Former Vice-Minister for International Economic Affairs, Economic Planning Agency (EPA), Government of Japan

Dr J J Irani
Director, Tata Sons Limited, Mumbai, India

Dr Bimal Jalan
Hon'ble Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha, New Delhi

Mr C P Jain
Chairman and Managing Director, National Thermal Power Corporation Limited, New Delhi, India

Mr Ashok Jaitly
Distinguished Fellow, TERI, New Delhi

Mr Ian Johnson
Vice President & Head - Environmentally and Socially Sustainable Development, The World Bank, Washington, USA

Mr Kiran Karnik
President, National Association of Software and Service Companies (NASSCOM), New Delhi, India

Prof. Sir David King
Chief Scientific Adviser to HM Government and Head of the Office of Science and Technology, UK

Mr Salman Khurshid
Chairman-Dept of Policy Planning & Coord All India Congress Committee, New Delhi

Prof. Jong-dall Kim
Professor, School of Economics and Trade,
Director, Research Institute for Energy, Environment and Economy, Center for Solar City Daegu, Kyungpook National University, Daegu, Korea

Dr Klaus S Lackner
Ewing-Worzel Professor of Geophysics, Earth & Environmental Engineering, Columbia University, New York

Ms Rejoice Mabudafhasi
Hon'ble Deputy Minister for Environmental Affairs and Tourism, South Africa

Dr Joe Madiath
Executive Director, Gram Vikas. Orissa, India

Mr Vikram S Mehta
Chairman, Shell Group of Companies in India, New Delhi

Mr Namo Narain Meena
Hon'ble Minister of State for Environment and Forests, India

Dr Lutz Mez
Executive Director - Geschäftsführer, Environmental Policy Research Centre, Free University of Berlin, Germany

Prof. Akio Morishima
Chair of the Board of Directors, Institutefor Global Environmental Strategies, Japan

Mr Elliot Morley
Hon'ble Minister for Environment & Agri-Environment, UK

Dr Mruthyunjaya
Director, National Centre for Agricultural Economics &
Policy Research

Prof. Mohan Munasinghe
Chairman, Munasinghe Institute for Development, Colombo Sri Lanka

Dr Sudipto Mundle
Deputy Country Director, Asian Development Bank, New Delhi

HE Mr Maria Mutagamba
Chair, African Ministers Committee on Water, Uganda

Mr Rajat M Nag
Director General, Mekong Department, Asian Development Bank, Philippines

Dr S Nagarajan
Director, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi

Sir Charles C Nicholson
Group Senior Advisor, BP Plc, London, UK

Mr Saeed Naqvi
Editor, World Report, New Delhi

Dr R K Pachauri
Director-General, TERI

Mr Pankaj Pachauri
Senior Editor, New Delhi Television Limited, New Delhi

Mr Deepak S Parekh
Chairman, Housing Development Finance Corporation Limited, Mumbai, India

Dr Bindeshwar Pathak
Founder, Sulabh International, New Delhi

Mr Subir Raha
Chairman and Managing Director, Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Limited, India

Mr A Raja
Hon'ble Minister for Environment & Forests, India

Dr Arcot Ramachandran
Chairman, TERI

Mr Jairam Ramesh
Hon'ble Member of Parliament Rajya Sabha, New Delhi

Nobel Laureate Prof. F. Sherwood Rowland
Donald Bren Research Professor of Chemistry and Earth System Science, University of California, USA

Prof. Jeffrey D Sachs
Director - Earth Institute & Special Advisor to the Secretary-General of the United Nations

HE Datuk Seri Adenan bin Satem
Minister of Natural Resources and
Environment, Malaysia

Mr Michael P Schulhof
Chairman, Global Technology Investments, LLC, USA and Former

Mr Jeff Seabright
Vice President - Environment and Water, The Coca-Cola Company, Atlanta, USA

Mr Samuel Shiroff
Executive Director, Bellagio Forum for Sustainable Development, Germany

Dr Parthasarathy Shome
Advisor to the Finance Minister, Ministry of Finance, New Delhi

Mr Digvijay Singh
Former Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh & Secretary General - All India Congress Committee, New Delhi

Dr Karan Singh
Hon'ble Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha, New Delhi

Mrs Radha Singh
Secretary, Department of Agriculture and Co-operation, New Delhi

Mr Steven D Smith
Senior Managing Director, Ritchie Capital, USA

Prof. Sir Chris Llewellyn Smith FRS
Director, The United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority (UKAEA), UK

Mr Paolo Soprano
Director, Ministry for the Environment and Territory, Directorate general for Research, Environment and Development, Italy

Dr Leena Srivastava
Executive Director, TERI, New Delhi

Mr Björn Stigson
President, World Business Council for Sustainable Development, Switzerland

Mr S Sundar
Distinguished Fellow, TERI, New Delhi

Prof. Klaus Töpfer
Executive Director, United Nations Environment Programme, Nairobi

Mr Henrique H. Ubrig
President - South Asia, E.I. DuPont India Private Limited, India

Dr John C Wall
Vice President - Chief Technical Officer, Cummins Inc.,
Columbus, USA

Senator Tim Wirth
President, United Nations Foundation, Washington DC, USA

Dr (Ms) Usha Barwale Zehr
Joint Director of Research, Maharashtra Hybrid Seeds Company, India