The electricity sector in India is undergoing transition due to consistent efforts towards achieving country’s Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC) targets, increasing consumer expectation coupled with changing consumer behavior, various supply-side technology innovations and price discoveries. India has consistently stepped up its RE capacity targets to 175 GW by the year 2022, and 450 GW by 2030. Enhancing domestic production capabilities matching with the requirement for meeting the target of 450GW RE by 2030 assumes critical importance. Achieving cost effectiveness and assuring quality of supply will be important goals to guide India’s low carbon development.

The 26th UN Climate Change Conference of the Parties (COP26), to be held from 1–12 November 2021 in Glasgow will aim to mobilize the action on mitigation, adaptation, and resilience, and strengthen the narrative for better alignment with sustainable development goals. TERI is preparing a COP26 Charter of Actions which will assimilate questions and challenges posed by keys sectors in India. The Charter will also propose probable and sector specific options which can advance climate action and ambition in the country.

With the above background, a stakeholder roundtable will be organized with the following objectives.

  • 1. Engage with stakeholders and experts on energy in terms of electricity supply to solicit feedback for the COP26 Charter of Actions.
  • 2. Solicit inputs from stakeholders and experts on aspects related to implications for the international community, equity, actions by 2030, and actions by 2050.


Dr. Balaraman Kannan

Director General
National Institute of Wind Energy (NIWE)

Mr. Akilur Rahman

Chief Technical Officer
Hitachi ABB Power Grids

Mr. Sabyasachi Majumdar

Sr Vice President
International Credit Rating Agency

Mr. Mitheel Mody

Head - Business Origination and Relationship
Tata Cleantech Capital Limited

Mr. Manu Mudgal

Shakti Sustainable Energy Foundation

Ms. Nidhi Sarin

Programme Head
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ)

Mr. Y K Sehgal

Executive Director

Mr. Ajay Shankar

Distinguished Fellow
The Energy and Resources Institute(TERI)

Mr. A K Saxena

Senior Director
The Energy and Resources Institute(TERI)

Mr. Chintan Shah

Indian Renewable Energy Development Agency (IReDA)

Mr. Mohit Bhargava

Executive Director
NTPC Limited

Mr. Raghav Pachouri

Associate Fellow
The Energy and Resources Institute(TERI)

Mr. Udit Mathur

Energy Advisor
British High Commission

Contact Us

Connect With Us

WSDS Secretariat

The Energy & Resources Institute
6C, Darbari Seth Block, India Habitat Centre, Lodhi Road
New Delhi - 110 003 India

Email :
Ph. : +91 11 24682100 (Ext. : 2467)